Skip to main content

Faculty Awards

Established in 2020, the Faculty Awards were put in place to recognize the many contributions by our talented faculty clinicians.

 Master Clinician Award
The master clinician award honors individual(s) who embody one of the Department of Medicine’s three core missions: delivery of outstanding clinical care.

The master clinician award is presented yearly to a faculty member(s) who consistently demonstrate exceptional clinical diagnosis, management and delivery of care. This individual(s) is routinely recognized as the “doctor to the doctors” and can be in the areas of general medicine, subspecialty care, in-patient care or ambulatory medicine. The award recipient(s) will be nominated by the full-time faculty within the Department of Medicine and will be recognized at the last Medical Grand Rounds of the fiscal year.

2021 Master Clinician Award Recipients:

Shannon R Galvin, MD                David J Mehlman, MD

      shannon.galvin.png                                   david.mehlman.png

2020 Master Clinician Award Recipients:

 Jennifer A Bierman, MD            Richard G Wunderink, MD



 Mentor of the Year Award
The Mentor of the Year award honors a faculty member who provided outstanding mentorship to another faculty member in the Department of Medicine.

The Department of Medicine recognizes the importance of mentoring relationships in our faculty’s career development. This award acknowledges the time, effort and value that an outstanding mentor contributes to the growth of our junior faculty. Mentor of the year can be in the areas of basic science, clinical care, education, administration or personal/professional development. The recipient of this award will be nominated by division chiefs within the Department of Medicine and will be recognized at the last Medical Grand Rounds of the fiscal year.

2021 Mentor of the Year Award Recipient: Tamara Isakova, MD, MMSc


2020 Mentor of the Year Award Recipient: Anju Peters, MD

 Community Engagement Award
The Community Engagement award honors an individual who exemplifies the values of the Department of Medicine in delivering compassionate care, research innovation and educating the next generation of historically underrepresented and under-resourced communities.

The award recipient will be a faculty member who collaboratively works with community groups to bring about environmental and behavioral changes that will improve the health of the community and its members. This award acknowledges the importance and value of community partnerships and the appreciation for the faculty member that leads these efforts.


2021 Community Engagement Award Recipients:

 Ike S Okwuosa, MD

 Ike S Okwuosa Community Engagement Recipient 2021

Matthew J. O'Brien, MD